Branding

Yesterday I was walking in a parking lot with my 6-year old daughter when she stopped me and said, “Mommy, look! It’s the American Idol car!” I wasn’t really sure what she was talking about and said as much as she became more persistent in her efforts to convince me of what we were looking at. Finally I asked her why she thought the vehicle was an American Idol car when she pointed to the Ford logo. I immediately understood that she related Ford to American Idol because Ford is one of the big sponsors of the show. As I praised her for being so smart, I couldn’t help thinking about what a great job Ford had done in branding their product. My 6-year old recognized a Ford vehicle and I recognized Ford as being a huge sponsor for American Idol. Two very different demographics, dare I even say young and old, can name their product and recognize their logo. Additionally, American Idol is a family show just as Ford advertises their family vehicles… smart? Definitely.

Throughout the day, I continued to mull over our conversation and how important it is to brand your product well. In a recent article I read, “It makes sense to understand that branding is not about getting your target market to choose you over the competition, but it is about getting your prospects to see you as the only one that provides a solution to their problem (About.com, 2010).” Working at Intelemark and having worked in pretty much every department, I know that our company is different from our competition and we can offer what no one else can. Our data department is unparalleled, our staff is dedicated and overall, our company has a level of integrity that is unprecedented. So how do we go about branding that message? Finding out who our customers are (demographic), what our customers need (pain) and what we can offer them (solution) are the first steps in determining how to brand our product. The next step is meeting our customers exactly where they are. It is more than selling them a product, it is partnering with our customer to help them with their objectives.
In summary, “Your brand is the source of a promise to your consumer (About.com, 2010).”
What are you doing to promote your brand? Post your comments or questions to this blog, I would love to hear from you!

References:
Lake, Laura (2010). About.com Guide, “What is Branding and How Important is it to Your Marketing Strategy” Retrieved online at marketing.about.com/cs/brandmktg/a/whatisbranding.htm on 6/8/2010.

Leave a Reply

